The following warnings occurred:
Warning [2] Undefined variable $unreadreports - Line: 26 - File: global.php(961) : eval()'d code PHP 8.1.2-1ubuntu2.14 (Linux)
File Line Function
/global.php(961) : eval()'d code 26 errorHandler->error
/global.php 961 eval
/showthread.php 28 require_once

× This forum is read only. As of July 23, 2019, the UserSpice forums have been closed. To receive support, please join our Discord by clicking here. Thank you!

• 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Incremental Membership Number instead of Username?
Hi (for the second time in two days!),

I'm a complete noob to User Spice but it is presenting some exciting possibilities.

The site I am designing is for orthopaedic surgeons. They are a bit straight laced for usernames (and I doubt they'd remember them anyway).

I was wondering if anyone could recommend the best way of autogenerating a membership number that would consist of, say, the year, month and date of joining, as well as a short unique number in case a few join on the same day (highly likely as we intend to relaunch the site soon). I had something like '20180820-001' in mind and would envisage displaying it in the account page and perhaps the topbar along with their first and last names.

Username looks pretty key to the whole construct - is it easy to switch that reliance to a membership number?

I'd like to leave the US code as intact as possible for headache-free upgrades so I am unsure if it is a good idea to tinker with either the id or username fields in the database.

Much obliged.
M
There is no straight forward way to get this action completed. On the other hand, you can already use a User ID to login to UserSpice, but these IDs normally begin at 1. You can always reset the auto increment on the Database to begin at says 200000000 and increment by like an odd number (3, 7) or what have you.

Thanks,
Brandin.