The following warnings occurred:
Warning [2] Undefined variable $unreadreports - Line: 26 - File: global.php(961) : eval()'d code PHP 8.1.2-1ubuntu2.14 (Linux)
File Line Function
/global.php(961) : eval()'d code 26 errorHandler->error
/global.php 961 eval
/showthread.php 28 require_once

× This forum is read only. As of July 23, 2019, the UserSpice forums have been closed. To receive support, please join our Discord by clicking here. Thank you!

• 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Different access levels
Hi

I'm quite new to US, so please be patient. Using 4.2.9 for a web site and things are working out quite well. To the point where I am now stuck. US provides for 2 levels of access to pages - public or private. To view private pages you need to be logged in.

I require a third level - call it most private if you want - that requires even further registration. The registration is not the issue, but the more restrictive level of page access is.

The scene: This is a website for the community I live in, approx 300 households. There is information on the site that anybody (public) should be able to view, say prospective property buyers, etc. Then there is information should only be available to residents (private) because it does not concern the general public. Lastly we have a neighbourhood watch and these pages contain information that only members of the neighbourhood watch may access - most private.

Keeping in mind I know fairly little about the inner workings of US, and I have no prior knowledge/experience with PHP, how can I go about creating this more restrictive level of access?

Thanks
Pierre

Just to mention what I have been able to do with US as "evidence" of my complete lack of knowledge re PHP:
1. Some customization, e.g. a require_once carousel below the menu. This was very basic and easy to do.
2. Added 3 fields to the registration form to write additional data to MySQL. Also basic and easy.
Hi Pierre:

You can do this using the public/private model.